Daily Archives: 7 August 2007

Team for ODIs and Twenty20

The Indian selectors have announced the ODI squad for the 7 ODIs against England and the Twenty20 squad for the T20 World Cup.

There are no real surprises in the ODI squad. Munaf Patel comes in for Sree Santh in the ODI squad which has a reasonable look to it although the continued presence of Gautam Gambhir is somewhat puzzling. It must be me for I don’t really see what his role or his point is in the team. The selectors obviously rate him highly! One suspects that it is going to be a long road for the likes of Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Irfan Pathan to make it back into the India ODI fold. Rohit Sharma, who did not set the world on fire in his first few outings, gets another go at this level.

The ODI team in possible batting order is:
Sachin Tendulkar
Sourav Ganguly
Robin Uthappa / Gautam Gambhir
Rahul Dravid (capt)
Yuvraj Singh
Dinesh Karthik / Rohit Sharma
Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Ramesh Powar / Piyush Chawla
Ajit Agarkar
Zaheer Khan
Munaf Patel / RP Singh

The Twenty20 squad is interesting, to say the least. It certainly has a few raised-eyebrow issues.

It is captained by M. S. Dhoni and includes Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, Ajit Agarkar, et al. This should make for an interesting dressing-room dynamic for the young Dhoni.

Gautam Gambhir squeezes into the T20 squad too! And I continue to shake my head at this choice.

The surprise package is that Sree Santh finds a place in the T20 squad! I can’t figure this one out at all.

The squad, as one might have expected, boasts bits-and-pieces players like Yusuf Pathan and Joginder Sharma.

The team appears to be light on batting talent. I am surprised Manoj Tiwary did not make the cut.

And the big surprise is the ommision of Zaheer Khan from the T20 squad. Explain that to me please? The team has only 3 pace bowlers — discounting Irfan Pathan who is on his way to hitting some bowling form.

The T20 squad in possible batting order is:
Virender Sehwag
Robin Uthappa
Gautam Gambhir
Yuvraj Singh
Dinesh Karthik / Rohit Sharma
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt)
Irfan Pathan / Joginder Sharma
Yusuf Pathan / Piyush Chawla / Harbhajan Singh
Ajit Agarkar
RP Singh
Sree Santh

— Mohan