Onwards to Adelaide.


 There are seminal, never to be forgotten times in every one’s life. One such for me was actually being present at the Adelaide Oval during India’s famous victory there in 2003.

I contrived to travel to Adelaide on Business and finish all my meetings by lunch, whereupon I took a taxi across town to the Adelaide Oval to a press pass organised by a relative who was with ESPN.

I watched Dravid get his double from the George Giffen stand and post lunch, went up to the press box from where I watched Ajit Agarkar get his immortal 6-for. This was as close to cricketing heaven as it got. I was directly behind the bowler’s arm. On either side were the Channel Nine, ESPN, ABC and other media boxes.

Tony Greig, Ian Healy, Wasim Akram, Ravi Shastri, Harsha Bhogle, Geoff Boycott-they all came to stretch out in this area and grab a drink or two. Gavaskar played tennis ball cricket with, I think, Jim Maxwell’s son while he was waiting for his lunch of naan and subzi from the local Indian restaurant.

Various print and internet journalists flitted about-Roebuck especially stood out in his kurta-particularly appropriate wear for that hot day. When I gushed to Sambit Bal that Cricinfo was my homepage, he asked politely whether I also subscribed to Cricinfo magazine. When I said no, his look, I imagine, seemed to say “Kanja Pisnaari payal” (Tight fisted so-and-so).

It was an unforgettable day, made particularly eventful when India won the next day.

Here’s hoping there’s an encore this time around and we are celebrating it in full measure over the Australia Day/Republic Day long weekend!

Soundar

7 responses to “Onwards to Adelaide.

  1. horrible batting by Ganguly – that too getting out Hogg 4 times in this series.

  2. Blame the Selectors for Ganguly’s batting—by announcing ODI team before Adelaide test
    Dhadha is still a human being with real feeling and emotiona—-not God or Superman as some bengalis think

  3. I still think BCCI did a good thing by leaving these guys out. I’m sure there are more dravids, Gangulys and may be even Sachins who have not yet got a chance at the highest level.

    But having said this the selectors should stand by their decision, they should persist with this young team even if they lose and help them develop as a unit.

    There is no dearth of potential in India, Its only about the opportunities.

    If the selectors made such a bold move keeping the WC 2011 in mind, It makes me very happy

  4. It was vintage Tendulkar. You saw him hit over the bowler’s head, over the long on and long of, the paddle sweep to perfection. the umbrella hook over the wicketkeeper and many more. You really saw an innings taken straight out of one of his many superlative knocks of the late 90s.
    Hope he surpasses Don’s 299 here.

  5. Ganguly should have batted at 6 and Laxman at No.5.

  6. Mark from Sydney

    Watching Tendulkar in this innings confirmed to me that he is the greatest batsman I have ever seen. His influence on this game should be measured beyond his contribution with the bat. I have no doubt that Harbhajan, Dhoni and Sharma all applied themselves with his example in mind. Kumble applies himself regardless. This was worth 150 runs.

    He deconstructed the Australian bowling, blunting Lee and taking the others to task. When he had batted his side into the ascendancy he unselfeshly pushed on. The message to the Australians: “You can’t get me out, only I can and it will cost you”. And it did.

  7. Reading about your Adelaide experience in 2003 makes me envious!

Leave a Reply

