More thoughts on the ‘switch’ hit


Firstly let us look at the LBW law. batsmen are not given out LBW when a ball is pitched outside the leg stump because an umpire may find it difficult to judge if the ball will hit the stumps or not. Now with switch hit being allowed, technically a batsman can be out to a ball pitching outside the leg stump! So if he can be out when he switch hits why can’t he be given out when he straight hits!

Next what could prevent a batsman like Ganguly to take a right hander’s stance every time a fast bowler runs in and then quietly change around. Since he becomes a right hander by their ruling he cannot be given out LBW when the pitches outside his ‘current’ off stump  because he took guard as a right hander! Similarly for right handers, they can just take guard right handed and turn around as the bowler begins his run up.

Also batsmen can now take guard anyway they want to confuse the bowler further on which side of the wicket they have to bowl! Great time for batsmen I say! My son will never practice bowling in school!

— Sanjay

Advertisements

4 responses to “More thoughts on the ‘switch’ hit

  1. Lets not forget that playing such a shot, or taking a stance then switching it as the bowler is about to deliver, is a risky move. I doubt we’ll see batsmen around the world trying it with regularity – primarily because if you get out doing such a thing you look like the right goose.

    Just imagine what we’d all be saying if KP had got out playing the shot …

  2. Umpiring rule can be modified slightly, I think.

    Under the current rule –
    Even if a right-handed batsmen were to slightly move or stretch the leg outside the off-stump after the getting the ball hits him on the pad, with the intention of preventing the umpire to verify the line of the ball, the umpires would not give the benefit of doubt of the line of the ball.

    By the same token, the umpire need not give the benefit of doubt – ball pitching outside the off-stump or leg-stump, if the batsman were to change the stance.

    Finally, it is a dangerous shot -it was unbelievable KP was able to 2 sixes.

    In my college days, a table – tennis champion, played left handed against me and still won 😦 The bowler would be embarrassed like that ..

  3. sanjay,
    ball pitching outside legstump is not given out LBW, because the ball is not in the batsman’s direct view (with a side-on stance, his shoulder would come in the way)… i dont see how its any more difficult for the umpire… same round ball, same moonu kucchi 😉

  4. Hi,

    I’ve blog rolled your site, and at the same time refer my readers to your posts, when there is anything i want them to read here.

    Would you be interested in doing the same. I saw here that there is a great opportunity for a blog roll, with a good number of visitors and contributors.

    The address is

    http://www.allpaddedup.com

    Thanks,
    Ankit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s