Daily Archives: 30 November 2009

BCCI’s Contracts 2009-2010

BCCI announced the new list of contracted players for 2009-2010.

Players from the previous year not included this year have been struck out in the list and players who have been offered new contracts are in bold.

Grade A (Rs 60 Lakh):
Sachin Tendulkar
MS Dhoni
Rahul Dravid
Zaheer Khan
Yuvraj Singh
Gautam Gambhir
Virender Sehwag
VVS Laxman
Harbhajan Singh

No change since last year…

Grade B (Rs 40 Lakh):
Suresh Raina
Rohit Sharma
RP Singh
Munaf Patel
Ishant Sharma
Praveen Kumar (promoted from Grade C)
Ashish Nehra (no contract last year)

In this grade, S. Badrinath and Irfan Pathan have been “demoted”.

Grade C (Rs 25 Lakh):
S. Badrinath (demonted from B)
Irfan Pathan (demoted from B)
Wasim Jaffer
Yusuf Pathan
Pragyan Ojha
Amit Mishra
S Sreesanth
Dinesh Karthik (promoted from D)

In this grade, Piyush Chawla sees a “demotion”.

Grade D (Rs 15 lakh):
Piyush Chawla (demoted from B),
Robin Uthappa
Parthiv Patel
Cheteshwar Pujara
Mohammad Kaif
Virat Kohli
Ashok Dinda
Wriddhiman Saha
M Vijay
R Ashwin
Shikhar Dhawan
Sudeep Tyagi
Manoj Tiwary
Ravindra Jadeja
Dhawal Kulkarni
Abhishek Nayar
Ajinkya Rahane

Manpreet Gony and Chetanya Nanda have lost out on a contract while Manoj Tiwary makes a reappearance after being left out in the cold for a year. Meanwhile, players to make the list for the first time are Ravindra Jadeja (about time), Dhawal Kulkarni, Abhishek Nayar and Ajinkya Rahane (3 Mumbai players!).

— Mohan